How To Use Snapchat: Common Questions Answered

Snapchat is a smartphone app available for the iPhone and Android devices. It allows the user to share photos (with text or drawings) with their friends. The photos last for 1-10 seconds when viewed and are then automatically deleted.

It’s a fun app to send silly images to your friends, or images you don’t want finding their way on Facebook. Some use it to send risque photos of themselves, however I would advise against it as there are ways to save the photo before it’s deleted (see below). Use it and have fun!

Remember those days when you would write a little note on a piece of paper, then pass it to the girl/guy you liked? Then you’d tear it up at the end of class so no one would read what you talked about? Snapchat is a new version of that. You can send photos, even text back and forth, and when you’re done. The convo is gone! It makes flirting all the more better :)


How do you delete someone on “Snapchatters who added me” list?

I’ve gotten a few questions and comments below asking this same question. You can go to your friends list and if you see that someone has added you but you have no idea who the person is, you can delete them. Simply swipe to the left and they will be removed from the list.

How do you delete a best friend in Snapchat

You can’t necessarily delete a “best friend” on Snapchat if they’re already on your top list. However, a quick trick is that you can Snap with someone else a ton just to replace them on your list. Also, you can try to delete the best friend from your list and then add them again. This won’t always remove them but it’s worth a shot if you desperately need to get rid of that one person.

How do you add a friend in Snapchat

Go to Snapchat and click on the icon in the bottom right corner, then “Find Friends”. This will bring up a list of friends based on your contact list that you can add as friends. If they already have it, it will say “Friends on Snapchat” and you can add them immediately.

Alternatively you can invite friends in your contact list that aren’t currently registered with the app. Alternatively, you can go to “My Friends” on the menu, then scroll up and a pop up will appear to directly add someone if you know their username or add individuals from your contact list. You either need their phone number or their Snapchat username to add them to your friends list, so make sure you know one or the other to be able to Snap with them.

How do you add a  best friend in Snapchat

You can’t add someone to your best friend list, it automatically chooses your “best friends” based on who you Snapchat with the most. As a word of caution, this can be seen by the public.

Is Snapchat available on Android

Snapchat is available on all Android devices running version 2.2 or higher. You can find the app at Google Play.

How to add text to Snapchat photo

Once you  have pressed the bottom middle button to take a photo, if you tap the image itself, a typing screen will appear and you can add text to your image.  You can also click the pen tool at the top right corner to draw text or a picture on top of your image.

How to set Snapchat seconds displayed

Once you’ve taken a photo, click the little circle icon with a 3 in it in the bottom left hand corner, this will bring up a menu where you can choose anywhere from 1 to 10 seconds that your photo will be displayed.

Can you check your Snapchat online

As of now, there is no way to log in and check your Snapchat’s online, you must use your smartphone.

Can Android and iPhone Snapchat videos

Yes, you can take videos using Snapchat on Androids and iPhones. You simply hold down the circle button you normally tap to take an image and it will begin recording video, note that it will only allow 9 seconds of video recording before cutting you off.

How to search a username on Snapchat

Go to the Snapchat App and click the button on the bottom right, then go to “My Friends” and scroll up. This will bring up a menu where you can add friends using their username in addition to adding friends via your contact list.

How to accept friends on Snapchat

You will get a notification that someone wants to friend you and you just click on the friend request and accept.

Can Android Snapchat with an iPhone

Yep, it is the same with other Android or other iPhones, both of you just need to have Snapchat downloaded and an account.

How to view Snapchat profile

Go to Snapchat, then “My Friends” and click on one of your friends, which will bring up a webpage with their username, high score, best friends, and an option to add them to your friends list if they aren’t already.

Can you view sent Snapchats

You cannot view sent Snapchats using the App as intended, however there are ways to recover images. You can find more information on Huffington Post.

App similar to Snapchat

Wink is a similar app for Android.

How to delete your Snapchat username or profile

If you want to delete your Snapchat username go to Snapchat’s Delete Page, log in and delete your account.

Can you upload photos to Snapchat

No, that is not currently a supported feature.

Do you have any other Snapchat questions, if so leave them below!

  • John

    Can someone be your best friend if you don’t snap them, but they snap you?

  • Dd

    Can iPhones recieve videos from Android phones?

  • Justin S

    Thank you very much!

  • Justin S

    Thanks! We look for ward to more of your responses!

  • Louis

    How can I delete a friend I’ve added that keeps sending photos but that haven’t accepted my add?

  • Alex

    I can’t get rid of some of the word I said or my friend how do I get rid of them

  • ABeezzy93

    How do you put a series of pictures on snapchat my stories. Or a video and then some pictures?

  • Giselle

    How come when I tried making my username I did it correctly but it told me to go back again help plz someone

  • Anonymous

    How do you make a string of snapchats?

  • rose smith

    I use snapchat all the time and when i am done i like to clear that conversation with the person. but if i decide to chat withthem later all the history from the conversation comes back up again. how do i permanently delete that

  • MG

    how do you delete something that you uploaded on your story for everyone to see?